STARS Alliance (Students & Technology in Academia, Research & Service)

celebration2014-147 (1) OUR MISSION The mission of the STARS (Students & Technology in Academia, Research & Service) Alliance is to increase the participation of women, under-represented minorities, and persons with disabilities in IT/computing disciplines through multi-faceted interventions. At FSU, these interventions focus on projects and programs that start at elementary school and progress through graduate school and on to IT/computing careers. The Alliance is organized as a national constellation of regional stars that include research universities, minority and women’s universities and colleges, K-12 educators, industry, professional organizations, and community groups. Stars implement “best practices” interventions with an integrated focus to:
  • Educate and bring awareness to K-12 about IT/computing education programs, careers, service, etc.
  • Recruit and retain under-represented populations in post-secondary computing programs and increase awareness of IT/computing disciplines and careers.
  • Sustain and institutionalize effective BPC practices at alliance institutions.
  • Disseminate and increase national awareness of effective BPC practices.
Joey Cardenas(UG – Information Technology) President
Danielle Cuccaro (UG – Information, Communication, & Technology)
Courtney Lisenbee (UG – Information Technology) Vice President
Nicolaus Lopez (UG – Information Technology)
Kelby Mahoney (UG – Information Technology)
Megan McGilvray (UG – Information Technology)
Alissa Ovalle (UG – Information Technology)
Hannah Brock (UG – Information Technology)
Rachel Roberson (UG – Chemical Engineering)
Chelsea Schneider (UG – Information, Communication, & Technology)
Martin Sung (UG –Information Technology)
Madison Allen (UG – Information Technology)
Megan Nichols (UG – Biology)
  HOW TO GET INVOLVED Contact Ebe Randeree (   SOCIAL MEDIA Facebook LinkedIn Stars Computing Corp Twitter @StarsFSU   STARS Alumni and LinkedIn profiles  
Name Current Job
Jennifer Aguilar Research Analyst at Walt Disney World
Monika Achury Software Development Engineer at Microsoft
Maria Arjona Software Developer at General Motors
Ashley Augustine Assistant Project Manager at Diverse Computing, Inc.
Laura (Hockman) Berry Graphic Designer at Ideabar
Andrew Bertino UI Scripter at Electronic Arts
Krystal Bowden Help Desk Analyst at Automated Health Services
Michelle Calvagno Account Executive at Playwire Media
Daniel Casale Software Engineer at Marina EYE-CAM Technologies
Emily Chase Election Internet Services Team Lead at VR Systems Inc.
Angelina Collazo Student Activities Coordinator at Waianae Intermediate School
Sarah Diesburg Asst Professor of Computer Science
Courtney Duran Senior Consultant at Booz Allen Hamilton
Mike Falcon Global Technology Delivery Manager at AIG
Heather Franklin Corp Op Engineer at Google
Leanne Galletta Project Coordinator at Bayview Asset Management
Kevin Galutera Information Technology Manager at Florida State University
Louie Garofalo IT Director at Pennington PA
Twanisha Gordon-Presley (personal site) Web Assistant at Florida Division of Cultural Affairs
Michael Helfrich Corporate Operations Engineer at Google
Russ Hill SharePoint Developer at General Motors
Brittany Holland Associate Planning & Digital at MEC
April Johnson Application Systems Analyst at University of North Florida
Lauren Johnson Healthcare Transactions Associate at Athenahealth
Courtney Kallemeres Web Developer at Calvary Chapel of Melbourne
Corey Latislaw Android Developer at Green Life Software Development
Yaniv Levy Technical Analyst, BlackBerry
Allison Loehr Content Strategist at Ingenex Digital Marketing
Rachel Masters Desktop Engineer at Cook Children’s Health Care System
Anthony Miller Electronic Services Reference Librarian at Florida A&M University
Clint Morrow Network Services Manager at Florida Department of Financial Services
John Nguyen Software Developer at Microsoft
Kristen Norena Human Resources at Helmsley Charitable Trust
Sheena O’Connors Project Manager at Black Knight Financial Services
Brandon Perkins Symantec Consultant at ITS Partners
Eli Perl Assistant IT Director at Seminole Boosters, Inc.
Alexander Peto Software Engineer at WeddingWire
Emily Robarge Quality Assurance Engineer at Comprehensive Software Systems
Emily Rosenthal Client Management and Property Maintenance Coordinator at Real Property Management Charlotte Metro
Matt Russi System Administrator at E*TRADE Financial
Ashley Rutstein Copywriter at EVB
Raquel Safra Senior Communication Analyst at FBMC Benefits Management
Shelby Schlembach ComPAS Project Manager at The Hartford
Liz Sicilia Marketing and Communications Coordinator at Plexi-Chemie, Inc.
Matthew Small Senior Software Engineer at West Health
Katherine Smith Systems Analyst– Cerner
Delano Townsend Data Management Executive with Web Design Benefits
Sabrina Trueblood Oracle Technical Analyst at Accenture
Albertina Webster Implementation Engineer at Radixx International
Kirk Yoder Software Development Engineer in Test at Microsoft
  PARTICIPATING INSTITUTIONS Arizona State University – Dr. Winslow BurlesonDr. Cecil Lozano Auburn University – Dr. Cheryl SealsJustus Nyagwencha Bowie State University – Dr. Quincy Brown Central Piedmont Community College – Jean SchoenheitJason Bellew Columbus State University – Dr. Radhouane Chouchane DePauw University – Dr. Gloria Townsend Duke University – Brook Osborne Florida A&M University – Dr. Jason Black Florida International University – Dr. Masoud MilaniPat McDermott-Wells Florida State College at Jacksonville – Dr. Ernie FriendDr. Ofori BoatengPamela Brauda Florida State University – Ebrahim Randeree      <——- thats us! Fort Valley State University – Dr. Cheryl Swanier George Mason University – Dr. Kamaljeet Sanghera Georgia Gwinett College – Dr. Kristine NagelDr. Nannette Napier Georgia Tech – Barbara EricsonAnnette Clifford Hampton University – Dr. Chutima Boonthum-Denecke Illinois Institute of Technology – Dr. Cindy HoodVida Winans Indiana University-Bloomington – Nancy Lemons Indiana University Purdue University at Indianapolis – Dr. Polly BakerVicki Daugherty Johnson C. Smith University – Dr. Hang ChenDr. Lijuan Cao Livingstone College – Dr. Kathryn Moland, Dr. T. Ray Campbell Loyola University – Dr. Ronald Greenberg Meredith College – Kristin Watkins Morehouse College – Kinnis Gosha North Carolina A&T University – Gina Bullock North Carolina State University – Dr. Kristy BoyerJoe GrafsgaardVeronica CateteRob Udechukwu North Dakota State University – Dr. Simone LudwigDr. Joan Krush Northern Virginia Community College – D. Paula Worthington Northwest Florida State College – Dr. Heidi Gentry-KolenWanjiku Jackson Oregon State University – Dr. Ellen MomsenMarleigh Perez Rutgers University – Dr. Rebecca WrightDr. Elaine Zundle Seminole State College – Dr. Melinda WhiteDr. Sandy Keeter South Carolina State University – Dr. Nikunja SwainCynthia Davis Spelman College – Dr. Andrea LawrenceIretta Kearse University of Delaware – Dr. Lori Pollock University of New Orleans – Dr. Jamie Nino University of North Carolina at Charlotte – Karen BeanScott Heggen University of North Carolina at Greensboro – Dr. Steve TateDr. Lakshmi IyerLydia FritzJanice Knapp University of North Texas – Dr. Ryan Garlick University of South Florida at Lakeland – Dr. Nathan ThomasDeonte Cooper Winthrop University – Dr. Marguerite Doman   For more information about the National Program, see: